Category: Medical Device

Gelatin Overview

Gelatin or gelatine (from Latin: gelatus meaning "stiff" or "frozen") is a translucent, colorless, flavorless food ingredient, commonly derived from collagen taken from animal body parts. It is brittle when dry and gummy when moist. It may also be referred to as hydrolyzed collagen, collagen hydrolysate, gelatine hydrolysate, hydrolyzed gelatine, and collagen peptides after it has undergone hydrolysis. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, beverages, medications, drug and vitamin ca...

Read more Gelatin Details
Details May Include Instructions, Side Effects, Interactions, Etc. Drug monograph is from Wikipedia. All text is available under the terms of the GFDL (GNU Free Documentation License). Source:

Recent Gelatin Forums: RSS Feed

Erovit M Vitamins

I'm seeing on the ingredients for Erovit M Vitamins & Minerals that it contains 'gelatin' . . I would like to know what type of animal the gelatin is made from and if the gelatin is Halaal. Thank you. ## Is this gelatin halal? If it's animal related which animal is used. ## What type of animal is use in this tablet and is it halal for muslims to use?

teal-green and white capsule no markings brown powder inside

I'm trying to find out what these pills are. There are no numbers or markings on the capsule ## Hello, Neal! How are you? I'm sorry, but without any markings, it is going to be difficult to determine what they contain with any certainty. We can rule them out as being a U.S. prescription product, since they are all require to have markings to enable their identification. Compounding pharmacies sometimes do specially ordered medications, but they use plain capsules, in most cases. That means that this is most likely and over the counter product, which leaves it open to many possibilities. I'll keep looking and post back, when I have information for you. Does anyone else recognize this capsule? ## I also have found a zip-loc bag with this type of pill. Green/White capsule conta...

Blue pill with D 26

What is the light blue pill marked D26 used for? I have it in one of my pills and don't know what it is for. ## Hello Sue, I hope you are having a great day. I was able to locate a pill that matches your description. According to the NIH the pill you described is a 12.5mg HYDROCHLOROTHIAZIDE pill which is a water pill used to reduce the amount of salt and water in your body. Below is some additional information as well as a picture of the pill. All information is sourced from the NIH. NDC 65862-113 IMPRINT D;26 NAME Hydrochlorothiazide INGREDIENTS Hydrochlorothiazide 12.5 mg; LABEL AUTHOR Aurobindo Pharma Limited COLOR Blue SIZE 15mm SHAPE Capsule SCORE 1 INACTIVE INGREDIENTS - Silicon Dioxide - Starch, Corn - Lactose Monohydrate - Magnesium Stearate - Gelatin - Titanium Dioxide - ...

Magnesium Stearate allergy

I am increasingly sensitive to prescription drugs. I have been researching and have found all the ones I have had reactions to have the inactive ingredient MAGNESIUM STEARATE. It is a soy/palm tree derivative. has anyone been successful in finding RX without this? ## The best thing you can do is to let your pharmacy know of the issue, because their computerized database will automatically check for that ingredient in any medication that is prescribed for you. Learn more allergy details here. However, it may not be the magnesium stearate, at all. It is always possible that you're just sensitive to medications. What types of reactions where you having? ## I am having issue also. Results in breaking out in itchy rash symmetrically on my body. If I break out on one leg or arm, the other...

gelatin use for becadexamin multivitamins & minerals capsule

i want to know that in becadexamin multivitamins & minerals capsule coated by animal gelatin. ## I would like to know what type of gelatin is used in becadeximin caps ?

Lavosa Omega 3 Supplement

Omega 3 Supplement ## Lovaza is actually the correct spelling for this Omega 3 supplement. NDC: 0173-0884-08 / 0173-0783 Labeler: Glaxosmithkline LLC Size (mm): 24 Active Ingredients: Omega-3-acid Ethyl Esters Dosage: 900mg Inactive Ingredients: -.alpha.-tocopherol -Gelatin -Glycerin -Water Omega 3 has a wide variety of use cases to improve our health. According to, Omega-3s are important components of the membranes that surround each cell in your body. DHA levels are especially high in the retina (eye), brain, and sperm cells. Omega-3s also provide calories to give your body energy and have many functions in your heart, blood vessels, lungs, immune system, and endocrine system (the network of hormone-producing glands). You can also learn more about Lovaza at: dailymed.nlm.nih....

i have a half light blue and white pill with c401 on the side its kinda important to me know what this asap

i have a half light blue and white pill with c401 on the light blue side its kinda important to me know what this asap ## Ik this is an oldish thread but the pill you are describing is a nabuilone and is a synthetic THC pill ## On this pill the imprint is c401. Is it still a thc pill? This is what i was told it was. I have been prescribed marijuana for pain and was told this is a better alternative. ## So is the nailbolone synthetic thc pill good or potent? ## Just to confirm, a hard gelatin capsule with an opaque blue cap and white body, with "C401" printed in black ink on the cap, is in fact Nabilone 1 mg; a synthetic cannabinoid (THC). For verification, this is a product of Canada and it's made by Teva Pharmaceuticals. DIN (Drug Identification Number): 02392925 Inactive i...

Pill large orange Round N over 400

These pills are large round pills colored orange with nothing on one side and N over 400 on the other. Curious to know what they may be? looked everywhere cant find out ## There's a small chance that I may be wrong on this, but from what I could gather, I may have located a complete description and identification of your pill (see below): "Each orange, opaque cap and body, hard gelatin capsule, with "N" and "400" printed in blue ink on opposing cap and body portions of the capsule, contains Gabapentin (400 mg). Nonmedicinal ingredients: colloidal silicon dioxide, gelatin, lactose, pregelatinized starch, sodium lauryl sulfate, red iron oxide, talc, titanium dioxide, and yellow iron oxide." This pill is manufactured in Canada, and the brand name of the pill is ...

Duspatalin 135mg

Duspatalin 135mg tab contains gelatin. From which source is it derived? Animal or vegetal? ## what is duspatalin used for? what are the side effects ## @saliqbal, Gelatin is derived from various animal products including fish bones, calves' hooves, and marrow. Therefore it is not vegan, but they do have some acceptable vegan alternatives to gelatin out there. @deloris, Duspatalin (mebeverine) is in a group of medicines called antispasmodics. This medicine is used as treatment for the symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome and other conditions usually included in this grouping, such as: chronic irritable colon, spastic constipation, mucous colitis, and spastic colitis. The side effects of Duspatalin may include stomach and intestinal disturbances, headache, difficulty in sleeping, loss...

susten 400progesterone soft gelatin capsules

reason to take ## i would like to ask you about Susten 400progesterone and how to use it for regulation of mensis? and postponding the mensis for more than 28 dayes ## I have taken 400susten by mistaken. I am 6months pregnant. Is it safe? ## This is a form of a hormone that is vital to a woman's overall health, as well as her ability to become pregnant, and to carry a baby to full term. The NIH lists the typical side effects as possibly including nausea, dizziness, headache, weight changes, mood changes, and irregular bleeding. You should take it according to your doctor's instructions. Is there anything else I can help with?


Possible Dosages for this and Related Drugs:

  • Sponge: 100%
Note: Above list includes dosages for all drugs with the same combination of active ingredients.

NDC Database Records for Gelatin: (1 result)

Sorted by National Drug Code
  • 51808-220 Sulfur Colloid 4.5 mg/1 Intravenous Injection, Powder, Lyophilized, for Solution by Anazaohealth Corporation

Other drugs which contain Gelatin or a similar ingredient: (2 results)

Related Gelatin Topics:

gelatin use for becadexamin multivitamins & minerals capsule
i want to know that in becadexamin multivitamins & minerals capsule coated by animal gelatin. ## I would like to kno... 1 reply
Gelatin Free
Can you get gelatin free gabapentin tablets ## Hi Carol, I have found a (600 mg) Gabapentin pill that is made without ge... 1 reply
Which gelatin is used for Gabapentin capsules?
I would like to know if the gelatin used on 100 mg gabapentin capsules are bovine (beef) or pork? Is it possible to find... 8 replies
clear gelatin capsule with liquid inside and no imprint
I found a bag full of these clear gelatin like capsules with a liquid inside that has a medicine like smell. Also have n... 1 reply
Pork or gelatin in Tramadol 50 mg oral tablet?
My Doctor prescribed Tramadol 50 mg tablet for pain of a torn tendon. I'm trying to find out if there is any pork or... 4 replies
The Soft Gelatin Capsule Of Evion Is From Animal Origin
the soft gelatin capsule of evion is from animal origin or what. . is it derived from pigs or from what source ## I'... 1 reply
Nuzak soft gelatin capsules
Is the gelatin used of halaal origin and does Cipla have a halaal certificate for the manufacturing of the complete Nuza... 1 reply
Is There Any Gelatin In Prenatel Plus
Is there any gelatin in Prenatel plus tablet? and if there is what is the source.Is it from cow, fish or lord. Thsnk You... 1 reply
Matilda forte gelatin capsules
Iam a strict vegetarian and have been prescribed Matilda forte. The cover mentions it as hard gelatine capsule. Does it ... 1 reply
Bright yellow gelatin capsule
I have a bright yellow gelatin capsule with no markings at all. It is supposed to be 300 mg. Gabapentin put out by Zenla... 1 reply